Everybody’s a Critic

Modern Art.

It’s not for everyone.

Naysayers and unsophisticated louts might even go so far as to say that it’s a crock’s game cooked up by snotty wannabes.

I am one of those louts.

Call me old fashioned, but I prefer art that I can understand, or at the very least it needs to be aesthetically pleasing. For example Michelangelo’s Pietà. I fell in love with it the first time we saw it in Rome. Mike sculpted Pietà from marble and I can see that it took a lot of skill (that I cannot even dream of possessing) and craftsmanship. More importantly the figures look like actual humanoids instead of random blocks of nothingness.

That’s why I was not terribly thrilled when Jo wanted to go to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MoCA) in Taipei.

Right off the bat, the first piece we saw was not very… encouraging.

In a parallel universe, the artist would probably have gotten committed for cutting the hands off mannequins

Of course, it’s not all bad. There were some installations that I actually enjoyed, such as this one of chocolate-ised machines of war.

Chocolate Warships

I don’t mean to brag, but I actually tried sculpting with chocolates before too. I cut them up into little pieces with my teeth before swallowing them. That’s why I can tell that the artists needed a lot of skill (and probably willpower) to finish their work. To top it off, the chocolate pieces look like actual weapons. Like I said, I don’t want to brag about my artistic knowledge, but I’m pretty sure there’s a central “No War” theme behind the whole display. It’s not terribly complicated and that’s why it is art I can appreciate.

The end of weapons?

But that’s probably the only provision in the museum for a lout like me.

It seemed that the arty farty curators of the museum felt that the chocolate pieces were the only compromise they were willing to make for the uneducated “public”.

Other notable pieces in the museum include stairwells covered in shrink wrap and bubble wraps, a neverending looping video of a girl getting her face smeared with cream (get your mind out of the gutter), and a room with steel girdles and other construction thingies strewn haphazardly all across it.

To be fair, all these pieces have that very endearing quality that art snobs all over look out for: nobody else would possibly ever mistake them for art. Any right thinking mums, confronted with the construction room would probably have very strong words with whoever’s in charge so that they don’t leave their dangerous toys lying around where people could get hurt.

That’s why I don’t think we can be blamed for leaving the museum after an hour or so. That’s about my quota for “modern art” for the decade.

Also, there are some real “art” (or at least I consider them to be) scattered just outside the museum.

Pieces such as this too-awesome-to-be-true Robot Speakers! You can plug in your smart phone/ipod into the central robot and the little robot at the side will play out the soundtrack from your phone.

Art that we can appreciate

It’s great fun… until someone decide to pump out Justin Bieber’s “Baby”.

Speaking of Bieber, we saw this really cute piece of art in a window display too…

How many celebrities can you name?

4 thoughts on “Everybody’s a Critic

  1. Pingback: Weird Science | TW and Jo's Excellent Adventure

  2. I’m a master chocolate sculptor too! Except all my art is in my stomach. Or rather in cesspools. Oops. Anw I think the message of chocolate machines is “Weapons are much better for eating than for using.”

  3. Pingback: There are museums and there are Museums… | TW and Jo's Excellent Adventure

Leave a Reply

